Ministerial-nominees: INEC to conduct four by-elections for NASS

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced that it will hold four by-elections for National Assembly seats recently declared vacant by members chosen by President Bola Tinubu for ministerial positions.

According to The Punch, Mr. Yakubu said that the four by-elections would be held to replace the vacancies left by two senators and two members of the House of Representatives who had been nominated for ministerial positions in their respective states.

“These are Surulere I in Lagos State, Jalingo Yaransi in Taraba, Chibok State in Borno, and Chifun State in Kaduna State.”

“In addition, four National Assembly seats have recently been declared vacant as a result of the screening of ministerial nominees that is currently taking place at the National Assembly,” Mr Yakubu said.

He stated that INEC has eight by-elections in all and that the polls would allow it to continue testing some of the proposals and recommendations made at the post-election conference with stakeholders.

Mr. Yakubu said that the commission would put the ideas made at the stakeholder conference into action to properly organize for the November 11 elections in Imo, Bayelsa, and Kogi.

According to the INEC chairman, the commission also collaborated with political parties, civil society organizations, the media, and security agencies.

Mr. Yakubu stated that the commission will leverage the issues and challenges identified by stakeholders to eliminate the obstacles in the next gubernatorial and by-elections.

CREDIT: The Punch

ReporterFK (

Related Articles

Back to top button