Lagos Assembly drops Abayomi, 16 Sanwo-Olu's nominees for commissioners, confirms 22

On Wednesday, the Lagos State House of Assembly approved 22 of the 39 cabinet nominations that Governor Babajide Sanwo- Olu recently forwarded to the assembly for review, PUNCH reports.

The approval came after a thorough vetting of the nominees by an ad hoc committee headed by the Chief Whip of the House, Fatai Mojeed, according to the Speaker of the House, Mudashiru Obasa, who presided over the day’ s session.

The confirmed nominees were advised by Obasa to always keep in mind that they are in office to serve the people of the state, not just themselves, and he praised the committee for its efficiency.

Additionally, he pledged that the House would continue to work hard for the good of the nation.

ALSO READ:  Osun tribunal reserves judgement

However, during the confirmation process, which was carried out by voice vote as Obasa recited the names of each nominee, seventeen nominees were rejected.

When asked why the 17 nominees were turned down, the congressman representing Ikorodu Constituency II in the House, Aro Abiodun, claimed he could only speak for his constituency and not for the House.

Additionally, when approached by The Punch, Mojeed— the chief whip of the House and chairman of the screening committee— simply texted, ” It was a decision of (all) 40 members (of the House). “

The rejection, according to a former House member who requested anonymity, might occur for a number of reasons.

ALSO READ:  Today's Headlines: Tinubu Writes National Assembly, Seeks Approval For Military Action; Niger APC Chairman Resigns Position

” There are a variety of grounds for rejecting a nomination. It can be for failing to provide a valid APC party membership card or a contentious qualification. Security- related issues, criminal histories, unexplained termination from a position, and others could all be factors.

The ex- lawmaker responded, ” No. There won’ t be a chance for the rejected nominees to be cleared afterwards. They will not be exempted. Other names will need to be submitted by the governor.

Gboyega Akosile, the governor’ s chief press secretary, told The Punch late on Wednesday that the results of the screening and confirmation process had not yet been delivered to the governor and that, as a result, the governor was unaware of the reasons for the alleged rejection of some nominees.

ALSO READ:  Reactions As Senate President Akpabio Tells Senators Money Has Be Sent To Them To Enjoy Holidays

” Mr. Governor has not formally received it, but we are only hearing about it from the media. We will therefore wait till the Speaker sends it on to the governor so that we can determine his or her appropriate response, ” said Akosile.

The rejected nominees are: Folashade Adefisayo, Akin Abayomi, Yomi Oluyomi, Folashade Ambrose, Barakat Bakare, Gbenga Omotosho, Olalere Odusote, Rotimi Fashola, Bolaji Dada, Sam Egube, Olalekan Fatodu, Solape Hammond, Mosopefolu George, Aramide Adeyoyoyoye, Seun Osiyemi, Rotimi Ogunwuyi, and Olumide Oluyinka.

MustknowUpdates (

Related Articles

Back to top button